Tuesday, December 13, 2005

New Releases Tuesday (12/13)

Various Artists - All Tomorrow's Parties 3.1 (ATP) Compilation featuring performers from the 2003 All Tomorrow's festival curated by Matt Groening. Of course, everyone knows Groening as the creator of The Simpsons, but before he hit animation gold he was a music critic for the L.A. Reader. Needless to say, Groening knows a thing or two about the history of rock and he compiled an excellent line-up of artists including Iggy and the Stooges, Sonic Youth, Spoon, Modest Mouse and Elliott Smith. No actual live performances from the festival here, but you do get Thurston Moore and Co. tearing through a hot rendition of The Simpsons theme. Beck - Guerolito (Interscope) Remixed version of Beck's 2005 release, Guero; features retooled tracks from the likes of Air, Boards of Canada, Diplo, El-P and "the king" Ad Rock. Isobell Campbell and Mark Lanegan - Ramblin' Man (V2) 4 song EP previewing the forthcoming full-length collaboration between the former Belle & Sebastian siren and the former lead singer of the Screaming Trees.


Post a Comment

<< Home